Home » Goals & Lists » Peanut butter parfait-in-a-mason-jar

Peanut butter parfait-in-a-mason-jar

Hi! How is your Thursday going? Mine has just turned fantastic because I am at Starbucks, pay day is tomorrow, this time next week I will be done with my dreaded final presentation for GE, and my mom just called and told me that I won another scholarship! Give me that monneeyyyyyyy. Well give UConn that money but still its another line on the resume! And possibly a trip to Beverly Hills… I am invited to PREA (the company that gave the scholarship) Annual Conference and then right after that I jet off to Chicago for the CREW Network Convention to accept that scholarship. Man, life is tough.

Jump to this morning: I had a 6 mile tempo run on the training plan for today, with the middle 4 miles at 7:38 min pace. I was nervous about this one, I havent done a tempo run any longer than 5 miles until this morning. And it was tough. like I am going to stop and throw up on the side of the road tough. But I kept chugging (luckily Albany is very flat) and like always it felt great when I was done. 6 miles done! Here’s the splits:

  1.  9:11 – warm up
  2. 7:41 – too slow
  3. 7:39 – just right
  4. 7:41 – dying
  5. 7:3o – not sure where that came from
  6. 8:4o – ahhhh done

Average pace of 8:04! And then after my shower it was time for this beauty:

Okay so just a forewarning – if you read my about me page, I have really odd food habits. This being one of them. These parfaits-in-a-mason-jar have become my recent summer breakfast obsession. Throw in some plain greek yogurt (Chobani), some berries of choice, maybe half a banana, some kashi or grape nuts for some crunch, and of course peanut butter (Kraft) or almond butter (Maranather) and viola! Delicious nutritious parfait. Here is a prettier one:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In other news, Trader Joe’s opens in Albany this weekend! I am taking full advantage of that and getting there early on Sunday, because I bet it will be packed. I have been making a list of Trader Joe must-have’s all summer, and planned to make a trip to the one in West Hartford before going back to school (to my own apartment!!!). Here is my list of TJ’s need to have’s:

  • Chocolate covered almonds
  • 21 seasoning salute
  • Honey wheat bread
  • Peanut dressing
  • anything else I see in the store that I need to have at that very second

And now I will leave you with a great quote I found in Runner’s World the other day:

“At first an ordeal and then an accomplishment, the daily run becomes a staple, like bread, or wine… or air. It is also a free pass to friendship.”

 

This is my excuse for neeeeeding to get my run in every morning in order to breathe and live and smile and be a nice person all day. It is my staple 🙂 On the menu for dinner tonight: Grilled chicken, roasted asparagus, and either a baked sweet potato or sauteed zucchini and squash. I am still deciding what sounds better at this very moment.  Off to go figure out that dilemma and cook dinner and watch Gleeeeee! Have a good night

One thought on “Peanut butter parfait-in-a-mason-jar

  1. I just wanted to let you know im still stalking your blog. Thats how much i love you…and im making that for breakfast tomorrow. You little genius.

Leave a Reply

