Home » Running » Duathlon day

Duathlon day

Good morning! I hope that your Saturday is off to a great start. As you know, I had a 12 mile run planned for this morning, as part of my marathon training and to test out my new fuel belt! Well the verdict: it sucked. Okay it didn’t SUCK, it was really nice having water when I got thirsty, I ended up drinking both water bottles during the run and I had a pocket to put my iphone in instead of holding it and getting it all sweaty. But it kept sliding around and sideways to the left, and it made my shirt ride up. Does anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions? I think I am going to keep trying it out, maybe bring it on some shorter runs with me and see if I can get used to it, because I do need to start hydrating during my runs. Maybe I am just not wearing it right? I plan to youtube that later.

Pre-run breakfast! Normally I do not eat anything before my short runs during the week, I hate the feeling of food in my stomach when I run. But before longer runs, I definitely need some sort of fuel. This is what I eat before every long run:

Or some variation of this. Either a toasted sandwich thin or english muffin, with PB and banana. I used to put honey on it also, but found that it didnt digest as well when I tried to run. Weird right? But after eating this simple breakfast, I can be out on my way in about an hour, which is great. It works really well for me. My peanut butter of choice right now is Kraft Peanut Butter, which can only be found in Canada. Whenever we go back we make sure to stock up on this stuff, its sooo smooth and creamy and delicious. and natural. Me with beloved peanut butter during trip to Montreal —–>

Above pic is all happy before the run. Below pic is sweaty and satisfied but sad because all of my water ran out. Do you like my shirt? Its new, I’m loving all the fun new Nike shirt and short patterns. I’m obsessed with their tempo shorts, I buy a new fun pair before almost every race.

12 miles at 8:48 average pace! Not sure why my Garmin says 10:05… that was probably that last .01 of a mile where I was dying. I had to run around in a few extra circles at the end because I hadn’t hit 12 miles yet by the time I got back to the apartment. Hate when that happens. Overall it went well!

I’m soooo pumped for the Olympic marathon tomorrow! Anyone else getting up at 6 am to watch it? I am! Kara Goucher or Shalane Flanagan? I am undecided I love and want to be them both. I just bought Kara Goucher’s Running For Women book, and I can’t wait to dig into it tomorrow. And then going out for my 5 mile run. And then hitting up the new Trader Joe’s!! I am way more excited for that than I should be haha. I just can’t get enough of TJ’s. And I have absolutely no food in my apartment so it is perfect timing. I need to meal plan for the week. This is my last week here in Albany, and I am spending Wednesday and Thursday in Connecticut to present our final presentations and do final evaluations, so I am not going to need that much food. Just a few things for dinner, some more yogurt and fruit for breakfast, and salad stuff and hummus for lunch. I will post a list and full meal plan tomorrow for your viewing pleasure!

My parents are on their way here to Albany now to help me pack up most of my apartment, and they are bringing my beautiful bike! I cant wait to see my baby, it has been way too long.

We are going to ride down to the Erie Canalway trails to the Mohawk-Hudson Bikeway, which starts in Albany and goes past Troy, Cohoes, Schenectady, and I think you can ride all the way up to Buffalo, but that wont be happening today. Not after those 12 miles. I am doing a little duathlon today! If I take any pics of the views ill post them later. Can’t wait to be reunited with my bikeee! And my parents too I guess. Have a great Saturday every body!

What is your opinion on fueling belts? Do you use them? 

What do you eat before a long run? 

Are you getting up at 6 am tomorrow morning to watch the Olympics Marathon?! 

Leave a Reply

