Home » Food » Eggs and foods for runners

Eggs and foods for runners

Quote of the day:

“No candy, no cake, no donuts, no muffins, no white bread, no chips, no fast food, no pastries, no ice cream. Do it for 21 days = results.”

I am trying this. That is, after I finish this premixed Jose Cuervo lime margarita… do chocolate covered almonds count as candy? I just read in Women’s Health magazine that chocolate eaters weigh less…

I made it out for my 5 mile run today. Right before I read the email from my Dad saying that he hopes I am not being crazy and running in the heat/humidity today after my crazy day yesterday… and it was tough run. But I was expecting it to be tough, so it all worked out, and I felt so good after I did it. Gotta love those endorphins. I was in kind of a bum mood and it instantly cheered me right up. Here are the splits:

  • Mile 1: 8:28
  • Mile 2: 8:35
  • Mile 3: 8:31
  • Mile 4: 8:17
  • Mile 5: 8:13 —->where did this random speed demon come from?

Average pace: 8:23. Not too shabby for running 12 miles and biking 20 the day before.

Afterwards I went grocery shopping and decided I was craving eggs so I made this lunch:

Scrambled eggs with feta, spinach, and avocado on a wheat thin. With some juicy strawberries on the side. I have been trying to incorporate more eggs in my diet lately, and I have found that they are especially delicious scrambled with feta cheese and almond milk. The almond milk makes them soo creamy. Try it! Eggs are one of the best foods for runners. Here’s why:

  1. High quality, complete, source of protein. One egg supplies about 10% of your daily protein need. They are great muscle repair food after a long run or tempo workout.
  2. One of the best sources of choline, a nutrient that helps keep the body’s circulatory system clear of compounds that would cause inflammation, which can lead to muscle swelling.
  3. Tons of bone-building Vitamin D. We runners need strong bones. 
  4. Contains lutein, a pigment required for healthy eyes.

Other superstar foods for runners:

  • Almonds
  • Salmon
  • Spinach
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Chicken
  • Berries
  • Dark chocolate ——>(hey i answered my own question!)
  • Low-fat yogurt

Good thing all of these play a part in my diet! Topic of discussion: Calorie intake. I have been tracking my calories on myfitnesspal for 214 days now. It has become a part of my daily routine, and I feel weird and like I am forgetting something when I am unable to do it. It takes 3 weeks for something to become a habit right? Well this has definitely become a habit… possibly a mini obsession. But, it has helped me lost 14 pounds so I am going to stick with it for as long as I can. I recently changed it to losing 1 pound per week instead of 1/2 a pound, and my daily caloric intake is set at 1460. Do you think this is too low? I find it very hard, near impossible, to stay under this unless I have a big workout that day, which adds to your allowable number of calories. I am going to keep testing it out, see what happens.

I am grilling chicken and baking some sweet potato wedges (yumm) for dinner tonight, and I rented a girly chick flick to keep me company. Oh how I wish I had my adorable pug already to keep me company. I say this over and over again, but the first thing I do once I graduate college and have my very own place is finding a pug rescue and adopting my new best friend.

Do you count calories? If so, how many calories do you consume in a day?

What is your favorite way to cook eggs? 

3 thoughts on “Eggs and foods for runners

  1. I try to count calories, but I only get a very rough estimate.

    Favorite eggs are still scrambled.

    Nice blog!

Leave a Reply

