Home » Uncategorized » Pork belly and meal plans

Pork belly and meal plans

Morning! Woke up bright and early this morning at 5:55 on the dot to turn on the Women’s Olympic marathon! It was a nasty, rainy day there in London but still amazing how they got to run such a breathtaking course. It would be a dream come true to be able to run that course, all throughout London and past the beautiful monuments. Even on a rainy, dreary day I would be drooling. Past Big Ben, the London Eye, the Thames, Buckingham Palace. I want to go to London soo badly. I was supposed to study abroad there this summer, and I would have been there right now, watching the marathon in the rain instead of from my bed in Albany. But then I was offered this internship with GE instead and figured I could not pass up this opportunity. London will always be there waiting for me. Someday London, someday. As soon as there was a commercial break I grabbed this ——> yummm coconut macaroon iced coffee with vanilla coconut milk. I love all of Silk’s milks, the vanilla coconut one I just found this summer and it is really good, coconuty and creamy.

My legs are pretty sore today after my crazy duathlon yesterday. My parents and I ended up biking about 20 miles on the Mohawk-Hudson trail. Then we went to one of my bosses’s houses for wine, grapes and cheese. I made sure she picked up a bottle of Oyster Bay Sauvignon blanc, my absolute favorite. So crisp and fruity and refreshing. Then we went to New World Bistro Bar for dinner, which is known for their spicy foods. My boss made me go with the pork belly, (ewwwww I know), which I have kind of always wanted to try. You only live once right? Turns out its a delicacy and like 800 calories but it was delicious and something I will probably never eat again, but thats okay. I can now say that I have had pork belly. Can you say that?

——> Mom and I on our bikes. That is the state capital in the background, pretty right? Albany is actually quite a nice little city.

I chomped on Grape Nuts and blueberries this morning while watching the marathon, but I am already starving again. And I am supposed to get out for a 5 mile run today… this should be interesting. I winced a little bit getting out of bed this morning. And considering its already 9:00 and a steamy 80 degrees I may be putting this run off until tomorrow morning. But I do love getting my endorphin fix, so I will keep you posted. There is absolutely no food in my apartment so today will include a trip to Price Chopper. Yayyyy grocery shopping! Here is the dinner plan for the week:

MEAL PLAN:

  • Sunday: Baked chicken w/ spicy tomato sauce, black olives. Sweet potato wedges
  • Monday: Baked salmon in foil w/ feta, asparagus, cherry tomatoes, summer squash
  • Tuesday: Almond crusted tilapia, quinoa, summer squash
  • Wednesday: Connecticut (nervous!)
  • Thursday: Scrambled egg and avocado pita
  • Friday: Moving home!
  • Saturday: Cape Cod!

Kind of a random week since I will be moving all over the place. Here is the grocery list:

GROCERIES:

  • Eggs
  • Dried cherries
  • Feta cheese
  • Hummus
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Strawberries
  • Berries
  • Bananas
  • Spinach
  • Avocado
  • Asparagus
  • Salmon
  • Seltzer
  • Cucumber
  • Greek yogurt

Time to go decide if my legs are up for this run or not. I am bad about taking rest days, and need to start listening to my body when it is sore. Enjoy your Sunday!

How many rest days do you take per week? 

Did anyone else get up to watch the Olympic woman’s marathon this morning? 

Have you tried pork belly? What did you think?? 

Leave a Reply

