Home » Food » My Body Is Not Built For Marathons

My Body Is Not Built For Marathons

New Update in the Hip Flexor Department: I am currently on a running hiatus :(. There will not be a marathon for me anytime soon in my future. Here is the low down on the past few days. When I left you, I had just tried running on it at the Hyannis Half Marathon, felt pain, so decided to take a week of rest from running. Last Sunday, tried to run again, and felt pain a mile in. So that was when the waterworks started, and I knew that something serious was up. I went to physical therapy Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, where they heated it, massaged it, stretched it, electrocuted it (just kidding), did everything in their power to try and relax the aggravated tendon, but to no avail. The guy there is great, and was confident that he would have me running, but my hip seems to think otherwise. He referred me to an orthopedic surgeon to have an x ray done to make sure there was nothing seriously wrong, and the x ray came back confirming this, which is a good thing and something I should be happy about.

So both the PT guy and the doctor said it is up to my discretion whether I choose to run in D.C or not. I definitely cannot do the marathon with this hip pain, so if I do choose to run, I will be dropping down to the half. Argh. How aggravating. At this point, I would not even mind doing the half, I love running for 2 hours rather than 4, I just want to be able to do it PAIN FREE! I am resting the hip today, Friday, and Saturday, and attempting the Putnam 5k on Sunday. It will be my test run, to assess my pain tolerance and if I could bear to run with the pain for 13 miles. The doctors said there is not a chance that I could seriously tear anything, so I am able to run on it, I am just worried that it will not get better for my races in April (Fitness Women’s Half Marathon, Rock n Roll Nashville Half Marathon). What a mess. I seriously hate this. Yesterday I was depressed and let myself cry, today is a new day and I am going to take my aggravation out on the weights at the gym and then enjoy the weekend with my friends.

Its funny how much this is getting to me. Running is such a little thing, but such a big part of my life, as this is showing. I am lost without it, and have zero motivation to do anything. You do NOT want me to tell you how many classes I have skipped this week (0 Mom, dont worry….). But really, this not being able to run thing is doing serious damage to my already bad case of seniorialreadyhaveajob-itis. I totally just made that up.

Ok I will stop boring you with my hip woes, thanks for bearing with me while I vent! I will let you know how the Putnam 5k on Sunday goes, and I have another PT appointment on Monday. Pray for my hip flexor to chill!

Now what would this blog post be without food? made a big batch of Quinoa Taco Salad the other night, and have been eating it with my meals throughout the week. I love quinoa, it is so versatile and tastes good mixed with almost anything!

Quinoa Taco Salad: 

  1. Cook up a big batch of quinoa, I used 1 cup dry and 2 cups of chicken cooking broth
  2. Combine with tomatoes, drained black beans, avocado, cumin, garlic powder, salsa, and anything else your mexican heart desires! I just threw it all in a bowl, no exact measurements, just for taste.
  3. Best served hot or cold!

20130307-092842.jpg

For weekly pizza night with our beloved Trader Joe’s whole wheat dough, we topped it with pesto, fresh mozzarella, olives, sun dried tomatoes, and spinach. Yum. Always a winner. 20130307-092852.jpg

And just because I miss her and she is on a cruise right now sailing somewhere in the warm Caribbean, here is a picture of Becca. I am supposed to be flying to Nashville at the end of April to run the Rock n Roll Nashville Half Marathon with her, so lets pray that my hip decides to heal and behave by then. That is a whole month and a half away at least! PRAYPRAYPRAY. This was taken when we ran our own little half marathon on the morning of Christmas Eve. I miss her and winter break and running. 20130307-092925.jpgI am doing a killer elliptical, bike and leg workout at the gym later today, ill post it later!

Leave a Reply

