Home » Workout » Lower Body Weight Workout

Lower Body Weight Workout

Good Morning! Woke up this morning to piles and piles of SNOW. hello. its march now. snow needs to go away now please, its spring time! But in a week and a half I will be on the beach, so I cannot complain too much.

I had a great workout at the gym yesterday that I wanted to share! It was a leg lifting day for me, and I combined it with some intervals on the elliptical and bike and some body weight exercises. I hate the bike and the elliptical.. but combining sprint intervals and going back and forth between the two made the time go faster and actually kind of kicked my butt.

The Workout:

Elliptical:

  • 5 min warmup
  • 5 min speed/push
  • 5 min hills

Body-Weight Exercises:

  • 50 air squats 
  • 25 mountain climbers
  • 50 alternating lunges
  • 25 jump squats
  • 25 lunge split jumps

Leg Weights: (3 sets of 12 reps)

  • Deadlift
  • Alternating lunges (20 lbs)
  • Single leg bench squats (20 lbs)
  • Squat machine
  • Side lunges (15 lbs)

Bike 15 min

  • 3 min easy
  • 1 min sprint
  • 2 min rest
  • repeat (do this on a hill program for an extra challenge)

Body-Weight Exercises

  • 25 pushups
  • 25 tricep dips
  • Wall sit (1 minute)
  • 25 burpees
  • Plank and side planks (hold for 1.5-2 min)

Elliptical

  • 15 min easy to cool down 

Ta Da! My butt and thighs are pretty sore today, so it was a successful workout. If Steph and I can dig ourselves out of the feet of snow, we are heading to the gym again later today. I am going to do some intervals on the elliptical and bike again, my triceps-biceps-shoulders routine (see post in workout posts folder) and some body-weight exercises like burpees, push ups, and planks. Hold the squats, my legs need a breather.

But for now… I am just going to dream of warm, sunny air and palm trees 🙂 and maybe attempt some homework. Cleo is coming up tonight for some wine and movies and what is sure to be some yummy eats, so ill post about that later 😉

Leave a Reply

